Thursday, July 3, 2014

End of The Trail by Vickie McDonough

End of The Trail is the sixth and final book in the Texas Trails: A Morgan Family Series. The series was written by a collaboration of three authors: Vickie McDonough, Susan Page Davis, and Darlene Franklin. It was a wonderful ride, and End of The Trail was the perfect conclusion to the series.

End of the TrailOverview: He enters a poker game and wins a new life
She loses the only home she has ever known
Two hostile adversaries are forced to work together

In 1896 Brooks Morgan pulls into the town of Shoofly, Texas, to take refuge from a storm. He befriends Will Langston in the local cafĂ© and agrees to help him out in exchange for room and board. A high stakes poker game ends in Brooks holding the deed to Will's ranch with a promise to "take care of Keri." His joy is short-lived, for when he returns home he finds Will dead - murdered.

When Brooks finally rides to Raven Creek Ranch, he is greeted by a rifle pointed straight at his chest. The same woman who came to his rescue earlier is now ready to shoot him. This is the "Keri" he promised to take care of-Will's niece-who believes Raven Creek is her inheritance.  Keri and Brooks have only one thing in common - they both want to protect the ranch. Is this really God's plan to save Raven Creek Ranch? Or did Will stage the whole fiasco?
ISBN-13: 9780802404084
Publisher: Moody Publishers
Publication date: 5/25/2012
Series:The Texas Trail Series
Edition description: New Edition
Pages: 256
Buy it: B&NAmazonCBD
My Review: I really enjoy Vickie McDonough's writing style. Her stories flow effortlessly and always leave me satisfied. This one is no different. My only complaint is that I wish it was longer! Brooks rides into the town of Shoofly during a hail storm, and the story takes off from there. There is a little bit of everything in this book. I loved that the story was fast paced, yet I still felt connected to the characters.

Brooks Morgan started out as a spoiled, angry young man. I enjoyed watching him grow into a mature man of God. His attitude changed slowly throughout the book from a man who smiled all the time to cover to pain to a man who smiled because he was actually happy and enjoying life. Keri Langston was a woman after my own heart. She is strong-willed, independent, and lonely woman. Everyone she loved has left her, giving her the feeling of abandonment. Watching her change from a lonely woman, to a woman loved by her God was exciting!

Overall, this is a satisfying conclusion to the end of the series. As the back of the book states, "Doubt meets hope, and fear gives way to faith..." in this book, and throughout the series.
**I received this book free from Moody Publishers in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.**

1 comment:

  1. I love her stories too! I read her book from the middle of this series but not this one yet. Thanks for sharing your review- I'm really looking forward to reading it!