Thursday, October 2, 2014

Dreaming on Daisies by Miralee Ferrell

OverviewThe Ranch Wasn’t All She Could Lose

Fiery redhead Leah Carlson will do whatever it takes to save her family ranch. Somehow, she must cover her father’s debts, brought on by his drinking—even if it means asking handsome banker Steven Harding for a loan. When he must decline, Steven vows to assist this captivating woman.

After a mining accident destroys his home, serving as her part-time ranch hand seems the ideal solution. Until Leah’s family secrets, and the pain of her past, come to a head. They could destroy everything she’s fought for, including the spark of love that may never have a chance to flame.

ISBN-13: 9780781408103
Publisher: Cook, David C.
Publication date: 10/1/2014
Pages: 384
Buy It: B&N | Amazon | CBD
Enter for a chance to win it on Lena Nelson Dooley's blog! 

My Review: "As I was with Moses, so I will be with thee: I will not fail thee, nor forsake thee." -- Joshua 1:5 

I absolutely loved this book. The story was fast-paced, with twists and turns I didn't see coming. The romance was sweet and natural. The character development was superb. I didn't want to put the book down! As I've come to expect from Miralee Ferrell, it is very well written and addresses some deep issues.

Leah, Steven, and her pa, Charlie, all have to overcome some serious issues in their lives in order to live the life God has for them. The development of each of these characters is essential to the story and flows effortlessly throughout the pages, especially Charlie and Leah's as their stories are intertwined. I loved visiting with Frances, Beth, and Katherine from the previous books in the Love Blossoms in Oregon series, as well.

As I stated previously, this book delves into some deep issues. Alcoholism, mistrust, depression, and abandonment run their course throughout the book, but Miralee does a fantastic job of weaving in the message of Jesus. Both Leah and Steven, who are already believers, have to overcome their past and learn to trust that the God of Abraham, Isaac, and Joseph will keep His word. Charlie has to overcome the hurt and anger of his past, and accept that Jesus is the only one who can help him do that. All of these issues can be overcome or conquered with God's help, if we'll just let him!

Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed this story. I can't wait to read the novellas that are also a part of this series as well as other books from this amazing author!

*Thank you Miralee Ferrell and David C. Cook for providing a free copy of this book in exchange for my honest review.*

About the Author: Miralee and her husband Allen have been married over 40 yrs. They live on 11 acres in the beautiful Columbia River Gorge in southern Washington State, where they love to garden, play with their dogs, take walks, and go sailing. Miralee also rides her horse on the wooded trails near their home with her grown daughter who lives nearby. She’s an avid reader and has a large collection of first edition Zane Grey books, which inspired her desire to write fiction set in the Old West. When she started writing fiction Miralee believed that she’d always stay with women’s contemporary, but has since branched out to historical romance. Her first two books were women’s contemporary with Kregel Publications, The Other Daughter, and Finding Jeena.

Miralee served as president of the Portland, Oregon, chapter of American Christian Fiction Writers (ACFW) for five years and currently serves on the board as an adviser, and she belongs to several other writing groups. She speaks at women’s groups, libraries, and churches about her writing journey, and has taught at both writers’ and library conferences.

Her fourth historical romance with Summerside Press in their Love Finds You series, Love Finds You in Sundance, Wyoming, released summer of 2011. It won the Will Rogers Medallion for Excellence in Western Fiction. Mission Pictures is considering this book as a made-for-TV family movie. Universal Studios was considering The Other Daughter as a family movie at one time as well.

Miralee is currently under contract with David C. Cook for a three-book series of historical romance novels, set in Oregon. The first, Blowing on Dandelions, released in June 2013, book two, Wishing on Buttercups, released February 1, 2014., a novella, Forget Me Not (published by the author), released April 1, 2014, and the final book in the series, Dreaming on Daisies, releases Oct 1, 2014.

Some of her books have a suspense thread as well as romance, and three have a higher degree of action with a decided Old West slant. Her current Love Blossoms in Oregon series will be somewhat of a women’s fiction/historical romance combination, with the emphasis on well-developed characters and plot.

Miralee is branching out into something new, a series of middle-grade girls’ horse novels titled Horses and Friends. The first book, A Horse for Kate, releases March 1, 2015, with each succeeding book releasing every four months after. These books will have an emphasis on friendship, horses, adventures, and will contain high moral values and lessons for kids woven into the story line. Watch for the titles–book two: Silver Spurs, book three: Mystery Rider, book four: Blue Ribbon Trail Ride.

Facebook: | Miralee Ferrell's Fan Page


  1. Putting this one on my list to read. Thanks for a helpful review!

    1. I'm so glad you enjoyed my review. You will enjoy the book, as well!

  2. I loved this book! Your review describes the book wonderfully!

  3. Thanks so much for this awesome review of my newest book. I'm so glad you enjoyed it! In case your readers might be interested, the first and second books in the series, Blowing on Dandelions and Forget Me Not, are both on sale through tomorrow....both are under $2. in ebook format. While each book can be read alone, getting to know the characters (who travel through all four books) is very helpful before reading Dreaming on Daisies. Thank you again!!!