Tuesday, May 17, 2016

The Quieting by Suzanne Woods Fisher

The Quieting
The Bishop's Family (Book 2)
Publication date:05/03/2016
ISBN-13: 9780800723217
Publisher: Baker Publishing Group

The Stoltzfus family faces serious problems, both in the church and at home. Everyone in the community expects minister David Stoltzfus to fix things--fast. But David doesn't work fast. He prefers to wait for God to work in individual hearts. However, even he is left wondering if the solution to their most pressing problem might be a Quieting.

When David's mother arrives, uninvited, more upheaval is in store. She has matchmaking plans for everyone in the family, including David and her eligible granddaughters--and especially for David's niece Abigail. When Abigail stumbles onto a curious connection during her genealogical research, it could help David solve one problem--but will it create another?

Get your copy: B&N | Amazon | CBD
The Imposter, The Bishop's Family (Book 1)

My Review: I was so excited to get this book! I loved the first book in the Bishop Family series, The Imposter, so I jumped at the chance to review The Quieting. I was not disappointed. I was so excited to return to Stoney Ridge and the Stoltzfus family.

Their family dynamic is very interesting for an Amish family, and became even more interesting with the addition of David's nieces and mother. I loved picking up with David where we left off. He is a prime example of a man and a pastor who makes mistakes and learns and grows from them. He embraces the challenges God gives him, and handles them with as much grace and mercy as God gives him. His treatment of Birdy in this story tore at my heart, but of course, the end result is what matters! Abigail was an interesting character. Her outlook on life was clearly black and white. I loved watching her change and grow throughout the story with the help of Dane. Catching up with Katrina, Ruthie, Jesse and all of the other Stoney Ridge characters was an added bonus!

As with The Imposter, there are many lessons to be learned from this story. The main points, I think, are learning to let go of the past and taking the time to listen, REALLY listen for God's guidance. Abigail's work on genealogy is important, but it kept her focus on the past. Dane, through God's guidance, helped her see what was right in front of her! David and the little church of Stoney Ridge were facing what seemed to be an insurmountable problem. He had to learn to listen for God's prompting as to how to handle the situation.

Overall, I loved this book. It's an excellent addition to the Bishop Family series and I can't wait to read The Devoted, book three (coming Fall 2016!!).

*I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher through the Revell Reads blogging program in exchange for my honest review.*

Suzanne Woods Fisher is a bestselling author of Amish fiction and non-fiction. Her interest in the Amish began with her grandfather, who was raised Plain in Franklin County, Pennsylvania. She travels back east a couple of times each year for research. For fun, too.

Suzanne has a great admiration for the Plain people and believes they provide wonderful examples to the world. She has an underlying belief in her books–you don’t have to “go Amish” to incorporate many of their principles into your life: simplicity, living with less, appreciating nature, forgiving others more readily, trusting in God.

When Suzanne isn’t writing, playing tennis, or bragging to her friends about her grandbabies (so cute!), she is raising puppies for Guide Dogs for the Blind. To her way of thinking, you just can’t take life too seriously when a puppy is tearing through your house with someone’s underwear in its mouth.

Keep up on Suzanne’s latest news by receiving her e-newsletter, as well as connecting on Facebook, Twitter and her blog!

No comments:

Post a Comment