Thursday, June 2, 2016

Sins of the Past: A Romantic Suspense Novella Collection | Book Review

Sins of the Past
ISBN: 9780764217975
Bethany House
April 2016

Secrets and Lies. Danger That Will Never Go Away. Join Three Beloved Masters of Romantic Suspense for Novellas Where the Past Will Not Stay Buried.

Dee Henderson - "Missing"
A Wyoming sheriff is called to Chicago when his elderly mother goes missing from her retirement community. Paired with a savvy Chicago cop, the two soon launch into a race against the clock when they realize something dark may lie at the heart of the disappearance.

Dani Pettrey - "Shadowed"

Adventure, romance, and danger collide when a young Alaskan fisherman nets the body of a Russian open water swimming competitor. Another swimmer, who'd been the dead woman's roommate years ago, is pulled into the search for answers as it grows more and more clear that something sinister is at play.

Lynette Eason - "Blackout"
A young woman once implicated in a robbery gone wrong finds herself at risk years later when the real culprit is up for parole. The loot taken that night has never been found and he believes she knows where it's hidden--only her memory of that night has always been unreliable. Can she remember enough to find her way to safety?

Get your copy: B&N | Amazon | CBD

My Review: Wow! These three authors emanate the definition of romantic suspense. When I say I was on the edge of my seat the entire book, I mean it. This is a fast-paced, page turning, suspenseful novella collection full of faith and love.

Each author brings a unique style to the table. I've never read Dee Henderson or Lynette Eason before, but after these novellas I will definitely be reading more. I am very familiar with Dani Pettrey and I was so excited to read about the McKenna siblings parents, that I started the Alaskan Courage series all over again! While their writing styles are different, these stories flow together seamlessly.

I loved that each story focused on a different message, but they were all related to letting go of the past. Each character was "stuck" in their past in some way, shape, or form, and had to learn to deal with the past and move on to embrace God's future for them. Overall, I highly recommend this collection of Romantic Suspense novellas to anyone looking for mystery, love, and faith!

*I received a complimentary copy of this book from the publisher through the Bethany House blogging program in exchange for my honest review, which I have given.*

Dee HendersonDani PettreyLynette Eason
Dee Henderson is the New York Times bestselling author of more than a dozen novels including Full Disclosure and Taken. She is a lifelong resident of Illinois. Visit her online at

Dani Pettrey is the award-winning author of the acclaimed Alaskan Courage series as well as Cold Shot, the first in her Chesapeake Valor series. She lives with her family in Maryland. Find her online at

Lynette Eason is the bestselling author of the Women of Justice series and Always Watching from her new Elite Guardians series. She resides in South Carolina and can be found online at

No comments:

Post a Comment