Thursday, November 1, 2012

Making Waves (Lake Manawa Summer series #1)

This is the first book I've read by Lorna Seilstad. The first in the Lake Manawa Summers series, this book was delightful and had a great message expertly weaved into the story.

Marguerite Westing is an adventurous, kind, fiercely loyal daughter of Camille and Edward Westing. She especially chafes at the social constructs she is bound to. Anything she is told she can't do, she becomes determined to do it. That is no different when she decides she wants to learn to sail.

Trip Andrews, Phillip Sutton Andrews the Third, is the handsome sailing instructor. After his initial meeting with Marguerite, when she fell into the lake and he heroically jumped in to rescue her, he never expected to see her again. When her little brother Mark comes to take sailing lessons, he never expects who the real student is.

To avoid giving away too much of the plot, I'll summarize here. Through a series of events, Marguerite learns that lies, even the "little white" kind, can have major consequences. With the help of Trip and Lilly, her maid, Marguerite learns to trust God in all aspects of her life, and that God hates lying.

This book was fantastic. I devoured it in one day. You'll want to laugh, cry, and get angry with Marguerite and Trip as they embark on their adventure and find themselves immersed in God's love and love for each other. I can't wait to read the next 2 books in the series!

Check it out here:

No comments:

Post a Comment